Taylor Brook and Marielle Groven in the 19th Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers

(read the full press release here.) 

Brook was awarded 1st prize Pierre Mercure Award
Toronto, Aug. 26, 2010–The SOCAN Foundation (the Foundation) announced today the recipients of the 19th Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. This year’s competition attracted a record 232 entries, with 13 award recipients and two multiple prize winners, receiving a total $26,250 in prizes.  Seven of the 13 prize winners hold degrees from or are currently studying at McGill University’s Schulich School of Music.  The annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers recognize Canadian composers under 30 years of age for specific musical works in five categories of concert music. 

Entries were judged unanimously, over three days in Toronto, by a jury comprising three distinguished composers: Jeffrey Ryan, Paul Frehner and Yves Daoust. 

First prizes in the five categories were awarded to Matthew Ricketts (Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards), Alec Hall (Serge Garant Awards), Taylor Brook and Trevor Grahl (shared, Pierre Mercure Awards), Nicholas Piper (Godfrey Ridout Awards) and Guillaume Barrette (Hugh Le Caine Awards). 

Of note, the jury found first-prize (Godfrey Ridout Awards) recipient Nicholas Piper’s 45-minute opus Locus Iste particularly impressive. “Space is one of the main parameters of the piece, with the audience situated in the middle and the ensemble and choir often moving from point to point,” says jury member Yves Daoust, a longtime professor at the Conservatoire de musique et d’art dramatique du Québec in Montreal.  Vancouver-based jury member Jeffrey Ryan, adds: “It’s meditative but yet very dramatic, and very eclectic in its use of musical materials.”

Groven wins second prize MacMillan award.
Additional Award recipients include: Marielle Groven (second prize) and Alec Hall (third prize) in the Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards; Taylor Brook (second prize) and Roger Feria Jr. (third prize) in the Serge Garant Awards; Alexandra Fol (third prize) in the Pierre Mercure Awards; Gabriel Dharmoo (second prize) and Aaron Gervais (third prize) in the Godfrey Ridout Awards; and Adam Basanta (second prize) and Charles Quevillon (third prize) in the Hugh Le Caine Awards